Tactical Movement
When the rules refer to a “movement cost” or “spending movement,” they're describing how many feet of your Speed you must use to move from one point to another. Normally, movement costs the number of feet you're moving. However, sometimes it's harder to move a certain distance due to difficult terrain or other factors. In such a case, you might have to spend a different amount of movement to move from one place to another.
Grid Movement
Diagonal Movement
3D Movement
Size, Space, and Reach
The Space entry lists how many feet on a side a creature's space is, so a Large creature fills a 10-foot-by-10-foot space, or 4 squares on the grid. (If you need to measure in three dimensions, their space is also 10 feet high.) Sometimes part of a creature extends beyond its space, such as if a sky fisher is grabbing you with its lasso filaments. In that case, the GM will usually allow attacking the extended portion, even if you can't reach the main creature.
A Small or larger creature or object takes up at least 1 square on a grid, and creatures of these sizes can't usually share spaces except in situations like a character riding a mount.
Multiple Tiny creatures can occupy the same square. At least four can fit in a single square, though the GM might determine that even more can fit. Tiny creatures can share a space occupied by a larger creature as well. If a Tiny creature's reach is 0 feet, it must share a space with a creature in order to attack it.
Size | Space | Reach (Tall) | Reach (Long) |
---|---|---|---|
Tiny | Less than 5 feet | 0 feet | 0 feet |
Small | 5 feet | 5 feet | 5 feet |
Medium | 5 feet | 5 feet | 5 feet |
Large | 10 feet | 10 feet | 5 feet |
Huge | 15 feet | 15 feet | 10 feet |
Gargantuan | 20 feet or more | 20 feet | 15 feet |
Moving Through a Creature's Space
Prone and Incapacitated Creatures
Creatures of Different Sizes
Tiny creatures are an exception, just like with sharing a space. They can move through creatures' spaces and can even end their movement there. Similarly, other creatures can move through and end their movement in a Tiny creature's space.
Objects
Forced Movement
If forced movement would move you into a space you can't occupy—because objects are in the way or because you lack the movement type needed to reach it, for example— you stop moving in the last space you can occupy.
Usually the creature or effect forcing the movement chooses the path the victim takes. If you're pushed or pulled, you can usually be moved through hazardous terrain, pushed out of an airlock, or the like. Abilities that reposition you in some other way can't put you in such dangerous places unless they specify otherwise. In all cases, the GM makes the final call if there's doubt on where forced movement can move a creature.
Some abilities allow a creature to move while carrying another along with it. This is forced movement for the carried creature. Unless noted otherwise, they both move on the same path while this happens—the carrying creature can't drag its victim through dangers while avoiding them itself, for example.